Commissioned in 2017 by the Pastor Father Patrick L. Posey, V.F., to commemorate the 125th Anniversary of St. James Parish in Falls Church, VA, Doers of the Word is a comprehensive history of one of the oldest parishes in Virginia which began as a little wood-frame church built in 1874 in "West End" as a mission of St. Mary's in Alexandria and which grew with the building of a beautiful Gothic stone church in 1902 that was heralded at the time as "the best example of Gothic architecture in the state."
Enlarged and embellished in 1952 into a magnificent cruciform church with 75 hand-painted stained-glass windows, St. James Parish was responding to a massive influx of Catholics to the area that saw parish membership rise from 85 families and 85 School students in 1931 to 1,698 families and a School enrollment that topped 2,297 in 1953.
With a consistent legacy of Parish families that often dates back to the early 1900s, St. James Parish holds a unique place in the history of the Catholic Church in Virginia that demonstrates Saint James the Greater's admonition to become "doers of the Word" (James 1: 22).
Written by Carol Anne Jones, Catholic author whose sons both attended St. James School in the 1980s and 1990s and whose interest in the history of the Parish and School dates from those years, this book represents her extensive research into the Parish Archives and other historical sources to reveal the challenges, accomplishments, and reminiscences of pastors and parishioners alike in their efforts to witness to the Faith over the years.
Wood-frame Church on Fowler Street. Original Stone Church in 1902. Current Church. Photo ©Kateri Ambrow, March 24, 2017. Used with Permission.
Until further notice, this book is available for purchase using another Coronae Rosarum commerce website at www.squareup.com/store/coronae-rosarum.
This website is still under development. Sorry for the inconvenience!